Beeunique Header
 
 

Pink Photos ~ Blue Photos ~ Red Photos ~ Purple Photos ~ Green Photos ~ Orange Photos ~ More Categories...

BEEUNIQUE SHOP ~ Search by Brand & Colour~RReviews _ _Forum ----Updates/News _ New Photos (Sep 11)

 

HAIR DYE REVIEW

Special Effects - Nuclear Red
Total Reviews: 1 -40

Add Review Button
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 19th September 2009
Review: It's so FAB i've had it in my hair for 6 months now and it's so nice. Once it fades it goes a really nice orange colour. I had dark brown hair and i bleached it to a blonde/white colour and it came out really bight. Also once it gets to the orange stage when you wash your hair the colour doesn't run. -LG-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 19th September 2009
Review: Oh wow, I have fallen in love with this dye! When I first got it, i just put a few highlights in my hair to see how long the colour would last and how bright it was. Turned out, it was brilliant! Sadly, my mum didn't let me dye it fully red until summer because my school 'wouldn't like it'. When it came to summer I simply couldn't wait to get it on! I've literally just done it and I lef tit in for somewhere under 4 hours. Due to the colour my hair was before [a blond/ginger combo due to bad dying previously], it came out as an amazing red colour, the same as Ariel from The Little Mermaid! It did bleed quite a bit, and I'm sure it will do for the next few washes, but I'm positive it will be brilliant for weeks [maybe months] to come! Thank you Special Effects hair dye. -VeanZ-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 19th September 2009
Review: The best red hair dye out there...i recommend this color...it lasts and it's very bright...the brightest you could ever get...can't go wrong with it...i love it... -Luna-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 19th July 2009
Review: I really LOVE that color. After bleaching it twice,my blue black hair was kind of greenish-grey with roots that were nearly white. I didn't expect an even color when I dyed my hair with this stuff. The result was brilliant! A really really bright red,the color is even,my hair looks shiny and less damaged than before. Although,the color did'nt stain my bathroom. For me,this is the perfect red ! _3 -Tanja-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 25th March 2009
Review: I love this dye! It looks amazing, and has long lasting power as well. I'm addicted! -Lina-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 2nd April 2009
Review: My first time using this dye. I didn't prelighten or bleach my hair before use, so I knew the colour wouldn't be as vibrant as some. The colour it did go, I loved!! A nice deep dark rich blood colour over my Grand Canyon Copper red hair before it, I kept it on for 6hrs. Would definately buy this colour again and maybe lighten my hair first *g* Thank you to the woman who I spoke to on the phone for easing the payment through. -Hazel-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 15th January 2009
Review: I've been colouring my hair for years and a few years ago decided (stupidly) to go back to my natural colour of strawberry blonde from dark red. After a lot of bleach baths at the hairdressers I was left with lovely blondey hair, but since then the condition has been terrible. I decided to go bright red again as I felt half a person with my natural colour and so set out on a quest to find the brightest one. After trying the usual suspects with disappointing results - fading too quickly, not bright enough - I saw this colour and decided to give it a go. Oh what a brilliant decision that was! I didn't pre-bleach my hair as I decided to not take the chance, and as it was already red thought it would be worth trying. The colour is amazing!!!! I left it on for 3 hours to start with and after that the colour was bright and almost 3D in appearance. Yes, it does come out a bit for the first few washes and yes, my scalp was a bit red for the first few days, but after that the colour just stayed and stayed. I usually lasts for a good 4 weeks on my hair and the condition is wonderful. I like to mix Nuclear Red and Atomic Pink together for Ariel the Mermaid-a-like hair and I'm complimented wherever I go. The best thing is though, that I went to the Extreme gig a few months ago and it glowed under the lights.... ace! I hope this inspires more people to ditch the permanent one-dimensional colours from the 'you're worth it' companies and go veggie instead. -Karen-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 20th December 2008
Review: This colour is sooo bright! buy it! it's awesome. i had mid brown hair and it came out really bright. it's the best semi-permanent red hair dye there is. -Heather-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 14th November 2008
Review: My problem with the color is simple: every time people saw my hair they said 'ooh, orange'...and I really wasn't going for that. I have no problem with that color, but I wanted RED. The upside of this is that NR is easily bleached out. -Emailed Review-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 14th November 2008
Review: This color is amazingly bright. My hair wasn't even as light as I thought it should have been and the color suprised me. The only think that I found odd was that even with just water it bleeds ALOT. Maybe that's just me, but after a month it's just a little lighter and just as bright without having that faded look. –Squid-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 21st October 2008
Review: I've used reds for years and this one is definately the best! It looks stunning, really bright and lasts ages, in fact the colour gets better! worth every penny and then some!!! -Caroline-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 26th September 2008
Review: This is the brightest red ive ever used! This definately turns heads and gets alot of comments, and lasts for ages (it was a pain to get out!). It starts off a fire engine red on yellow bleached hair and fades out to an orange red then to a peach if you leave it too long. If you want a nice uniform colour from this one i reccomend you get an even colour whilst bleaching your hair- its so bright it shows every variation in your hair colour and fades out unevenly otherwise. -Brooke-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 2nd September 2008
Review: Loved the colour lasted ages and even showed up well on the bits of my hair which were not bleached first. Everyone has commented of how lovelly it is... even my mum! -Arietta-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 2nd September 2008
Review: This color is AMAZING!! Of all of the countless colors and dyes i have used this was the brightest truest color. it stayed a shocking vibrant red for ages, faded to a lovely bright orange, and then a light kind of macaroni color, which i was personally fond of. Best red i have ever used. -Astrid-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 2nd September 2008
Review: Looks amazing and luminous when its first dyed and holds its colour quite well but fades and looks orange after a bit. -Ane-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 2nd September 2008
Review: For the longest time, this was my signature dye. It turned out as a very bright neon red and slowly faded. A gorgeous red. -Mandy-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 6th August 2008
Review: What a fantastic red! I hate pink, so I'm usually dissapointed with red dyes since most of them tend to fade to a dark pink colour, but not this one! I dyed my fringe with this to contrast with my black dreads, and it's a beautiful, bright, neon red! If anything, I'd say my only gripe with this is that it is a bit too neon for my liking, but is easily toned down with a touch of blood red to a deeper colour, and still no pink! Lasted for ages, and didn't seem to wash out very much at all! Great dye! -Amanda-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 9th July 2008
Review: This is my favorite red that SFX makes! If your hair is bleached but not to a super light color, thats OK because this color will go over darker blonds pretty well. It is VERY bright red, but not pinky or orangey...it is a true red! It also keeps its color for a long time inbetween touch-ups. Another dye that I believe glows under a blacklight. This is the color that I would imagine Jessica Rabbit to use! A really, really great red :) -Allison-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 9th July 2008
Review: I dyed my hair this color from a stark white. It was a beautifully bright red for about 3 days until it faded to a (still bright) but unwanted red-orange (peach) color. I know this is because my hair was white rather than a pale blonde, but it was a big let-down for me and I'm still searching for that perfect red.... -Angel-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 8th July 2008
Review: I originally bought this dye for my boyfriend but he then got a job that required 'conventional' hair colours whereas my job allowed my neon hair so i jumped at the chance to use this gorgeous red, it looked so good on him and it look brilliant on me too, i dyed it over slightly faded atomic pink and newly bleached roots and it came up a treat, i even got a few little streaks of pink showing through as it fades. It's gorgeously bright although it does bleed a lot in the shower, everyone at work comments on it and i've been told i brighten up the reception! -Elisabeth-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 7th July 2008
Review: I was really disappointed with this! It had washed completely out of my hair within 7 days, and i mean completely! Was expecting so much more... -Donna-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 25th June 2008
Review: This has a fantastic colour when first put on really shines in the light aswell but I am finding that the colour doesn't last as long on my hair as the Manic Panic did! Afraid I am moving back to my tried and trusted M.P. -Rosalind-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 19th June 2008
Review: Another fab sfx colour, long lasting and bright! I usually use this one at xmas for a festive funky feeling. -Debbie-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 15th June 2008
Review: This was one gorgeous colour, I left it on for AGES, and it fades deliciously too, into a lovely red-pink, more red than pink but with DEFINITE pinky hues. The staying power was pretty lush too, I didnt have to touch it up for a whole month. -Trashacidme-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 1st May 2008
Review: Such a great dye. I use this for all over my head, and its the brigtest red i have tried. I used it two weeks ago and i wash my hair everyday and it still is bright red!!. Its a really good to bleach it first as it comes out a lot brighter. I just ordered fish bowl, so im going to my hair all of that colour, but the red is amazing! :). -Michael-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 13th March 2008
Review: I recently dyed my hair blonde and black and got bored very quickly, so i decided to dye the blonde bits Nuclear Red. OMG you cant miss me! perfect colour! everyone comments on it. but once again my shampoo is a little too harsh and it has faded it quite quick... but thats the shampoo not the dye. -Marie-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 12th February 2008
Review: Fantastic color! Although its been several months since I dyed my hair with this color, it's still in my hair, though not as red as it was the first few weeks, but it's still there! I'd recommend this color if you'd really want your hair to scream "REEEEEEED" XD -Sandra-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 29th January 2008
Review: Amazing! I bleached my hair before I used it so it was rather blond. I have darkish brown hair normally got a poweder bleach and a 12% peroxide cream, you can get this from boots or anywhere. Left that on for just over an hour. Then left this colour on for about 1 hour though it said 20min on the bottle its didnt do any damage to my hair (the bleach did that! ^_^) and its turned out amazing, exactly the colour shown in the picture! -Jonathan-
NOTE FROM BEEUNIQUE: You can also buy bleach kits from our shop. Many people also leave Special Effects Dyes on hair for hours to get a more vibrant dye result - these will condition the hair rather than harm it.
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 20th January 2008
Review: From the day I dyed my hair nuclear red all over, not a day goes by when I don't get a lot of attention from it! I get several (positive) comments a day and lots of stares from all kinds of people! I've had a couple of family reunions since and I've walked into a room full of strange looks (hehe). I really get noticed everywhere I go - so I have to agree with other users who say that this colour is not for the shy (unless they want to come out of their shell)! I only wish that nuclear red did not fade so quickly for me (i don't know what other people are doing to make it last longer!). i find it only really lasts about 3 weeks and does fade quite quickly over that time. i wash my hair twice a week and try not to overuse the water - although I have also been using heat on it, which doesn't help (hey, everyone's looking at my hair now, it needs to look good!). The first time I used it I left it on overnight, and it was unbelievably bright! I also pre-lightened my hair first of course to get a brighter tone. warning - it does get everywhere but i have found it is easy to wash out of towels, etc, so don't panic. -Claire-
NOTE FROM BEEUNIQUE - Avoid anti-dandruff type shampoos and also try to use tepid rather than hot water and rinse with cold water. These should help colour last longer.
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 29th November 2007
Review: Great result (mixed with Hot Lava) that lasted longer than any other dye I've used. Did not bleach after the first washes as many others do. Love it! Recommend to have it over night with a plastic bag over to save your sheets :) Does NOT damage your hair but give nourishment to it and give it an fantastic shine! -Jenny-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 23rd November 2007
Review: This could quite possibly be the best hair dye i have ever seen. The colour is insanely bright and lasts for quite a good length of time, especially after you've used it more than once. You certainly get loads of comments!!! -Amy-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 7th October 2007
Review: I have used this product 3 times, once over my natural dark brown, once over bleached, and once over itself (a redye). Even when I didnt bleach my hair first, it came out suprisingly vibrant. However, when i DID bleach it first, it became the brightest thing i had ever seen! thankfully, that was what i was going for. I receive compliments every day, and defintely attract lots of attention- this is not for the camera shy! its gotten a bit grown out now, seeing as ive had it this color for over 3 months, but it looks fantastic and i would never dream of using any other companies dye. -Kayleigh-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 26th September 2007
Review: Vibrant in the extreme! Can't praise this highly enough. This dye doesn't fade quickly and lasts much longer than any other reds I've tried. The coverage and fade ratio is great as I've found other semi-permanents tend to fade quickly to a dull orange at the ends of my long hair and on one or three greys. Have had so many compliments. -Jacqueline-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 18th AUgust 2007
Review: A totally fantastic dye! This is the second time I have used this dye on parts of my hair and both times I have been impressed! After using this dye on bleached sections of my hair the colour was stunning, it was so bright and got lots of attention. It has lasted well, although I discovered that hairdriers turn it orange! So watch out. Although by simply putting the dye on my hair again for 20 minutes the colour was back to its bright red again. Also watch out as it does make your towels bright red, but I've found it washes out just fine. I would definately reccomend this dye, but be warned: It's not for the faint hearted ;] An absolute must if you're after red hair -Sophie-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 10th August 2007
Review: Got this to put through middle section of my hair. It looks fantastic. I have had red before but nothing as bright as this!! Am well pleased with it especially as I didnt bleach hair up too bright. Thanks guys! -Sophie-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 5th June 2007
Review: This colour is amazing. It's exactly the colour I wanted, and never fails to draw attention and comments; my current favourite being 'You look like a manga character!'. I've yet to see how well it copes with being exposed to the sun for long periods of time, but so far it's proved to be a very long-lasting dye. With one bottle I usually get a full application, and a couple of touch-ups; I could probably get two full applications if I didn't put SO much on when I redo it. Beeunique is a great site to get the dye from - it's the cheapest I've found, there's good communication from the owners, and delivery is prompt. -Jessica-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 27th July 2006
Review: My favourite one so far. theres red, and then theres nuclear red! didnt take more than 5 minutes for the colour to become sooo intense. lasted for weeks and weeks too! top notch, ace colour. (i recommend using a lot of vaseline on your face and neck and ears before dying tho, red is really hard to get off!) -Ailie-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 27th June 2006
Review: This red is the most incredible dye i have ever found. i tried high street dyes for years and couldn't get a good long lasting red, even getting my hair done at the hairdresser didn't keep the colour in long enough. Special Effects Nuclear Red stayed in my hair for about 10 weeks, and unlike previous dyes that changed my hair to orange after a while, the red just kept getting brighter over time! the only bad thing i can mention is that because it doesn't come with gloves etc, it can be quite messy to apply, i ended up getting it all over my skin and it took a while to get it off. make sure you have an applying brush, bowl, gloves and maybe some facial wipes handy :D I would definitely recommend this dye for anyone that wants crazy red hair :) -Kirsty-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 13th June 2006
Review: Fantastic. Very red and the dye goes a long way. I got caught in the rain a few days after I'd used it and it didn't run too badly either. -Nat-
_________________________________________________________________
Stars:
Added: 9th October 2005
Review: I wanted red and my god i got it lol,very bright and not for the faint-hearted but thats what i wanted. -Julie-
_________________________________________________________________
 
Possible Nuclear Red Hair Dye Results:
To view all our Hair Dye Photos please click here
_________________________________________________________________
Atomic Pink Reviews 1
Page 2 Nuclear Red Reviews
 

Beeunique's Hair Dye Gallery - 3800+ Hair Dye Photos, 950+ Hair Dye Reviews
Special Effects, Manic Panic, Crazy Color, Directions & Stargazer Hair Dye Photos.
Emo, Punk, Crazy, Gothic, Cyber, Colourful, Dreadlock & Alternative Hair Styles.

To add your photo to our Gallery please Contact us or view our Gallery FAQ Page

To purchase the dyes shown in our gallery please click the relevant link below:
Special Effects Hair Dye -- Manic Panic Hair Dye --Crazy Color Hair Dye -- Directions Hair Dye -- Stargazer Hair Dye
Bleach Kits, Tint Bowls, Brushes & Gloves

Beeunique Banner 3

Hair Dye Forum

Links / Banners -- Gallery FAQ -- Terms/Disclaimer -- Contact Us

© Copyright 2005 – 2011 Beeunique All Rights Reserved
No downloading or copying of material from this website without permission from Beeunique